Thanks and a recipe: energy snack balls

Image

This week I finally shared My Little Green Family with a few, very special people: the moms I have known for a while –like my two sisters, who I think are the best moms in the world and the people I rely on the most for advice– and the moms I’ve met over the past year, who have meant the world to me and Sophie and for whom I will always have a special place in my heart. Thanks so much to all of you for reading and for your kind feedback. This site is for you. When I write these pages I think of our conversations had over cold cups of coffee; of our frantic text messages when trying to get out of the house on time to meet for a playdate or when we need to complain about nap issues; and of our few, but always fantastic, nights out to unwind over a glass of wine.

Most of those conversations, since our babies started eating (over eight months ago in Sophie’s case), have revolved around food. Well, most conversations I have with anyone revolve around food… So here’s a new recipe for those days when you can’t think of a healthy snack for your lil’ ones.

These are so versatile, you’ll be able to make them with pretty much anything you have at hand. Feel free to mix and match ingredients and experiment as you go along. It takes about 15 minutes to make them. No more. I’ve been bringing these to pic-nics and playdates and all the babies always go bananas for them. Just note my comment on allergies below.

Baby-friendly energy balls

A handful of pumpkin, sunflower, and/or sesame seeds
A handful of almonds, walnuts, or other nuts *
1 Tbs. quick or rolled oats
Carob or cocoa powder (optional)
Unsweetened shredded coconut
3 dried figs (you can substitute dates, but I personally find them too sweet so I prefer figs. Also, both figs and dates can be frozen in an air-tight container for a couple of months so don’t worry about buying more than you need. You can soften them before using for this recipe by placing them in warm water for a minute or two)
One Tbs. almond butter (you can use cashew or any other nut or seed butter)

Put all the ingredients in a food processor and pulse until well mixed. Form snack-size balls with your hands. They look pretty if you roll them on shredded coconut, sesame seeds or crushed cereal, but if you’re in a rush don’t bother. Save them in a bag or container. They’ll keep at room temperature or in the fridge for a few days.

*If you need a nut-free snack for allergy reasons, simply omit the nuts and don’t use a nut butter; sunflower seed butter is a great substitute.

Leave a Reply

