Alice Waters and some thoughts about food

lp8_womencover_web

First, a quick note to say I’m sorry it has taken me a while to write a new post. The past few days have been very challenging, with S sick with some nasty virus, maybe roseola, or teething (for sure), or some combination that is making her really unhappy. She’s slowly getting over it and we’re starting to get (some) sleep and feel like actual human beings again. Anyway… you know how it is!

I picked up a copy of the food magazine Lucky Peach on Friday and it had an interview with Alice Waters, the renowned chef at Chez Panisse. (I’ve never been there but it’s on my list of restaurants that I’d like to try).

I didn’t really know who Alice Waters was until fairly recently. But once I knew who she was, her name just kept coming back to me. Waters is an activist for “real food”, if you will, and her thoughts on everything from farming, to eating, to our role in teaching our children about real food really resonate with me.

Instead of explaining this, I want to share with you two excerpts from the interview so that you can read her thoughts in her own voice.

Good night!

On being called an elitist

A couple of years ago I went to a conference in DC organized by a major publication around “the future of food.” They arranged a panel with me and basically representatives of the big food producers and their lobbyists. Predictably, they tried to box me in as an out-of-touch chef from Berkley, California. What annoyed me most is that they were pretending that they were somehow on the side of people, looking out for their health, the environment, democracy. They are not. They are on the side of profit, and I said as much. Truly the real elitism is a food system controlled by a handful of corporations. We need to call that out.

On Educating our children

Real food should be a right and not a privilege. I think the way we are going to change is by feeding every child a nutritious, delicious lunch for free in school. It is about democracy. An edible education for everybody on the planet that teaches children at an early age about the care of the land and about how to feed themselves and how to communicate at the table.

Leave a Reply

